Board of Directors

The Directors of Capricorn Venture Partners are:

Prof Philippe Haspeslagh - Chairman

Philippe Haspeslagh is Dean of the Vlerick Leuven Ghent Management School. He is on leave from INSEAD where he holds the Paul Desmarais Chair in Partnership and Active Ownership. He previously taught as a Visiting Faculty member at the Harvard Business School and the Stanford Business School, and was a Chief of Cabinet for the Belgian Minister of Agriculture and Small and Medium Enterprises. His main research interests have been in the areas of Mergers and Acquisitions, Corporate Strategy, Managing for Value and Corporate Governance. Philippe Haspeslagh has been an advisor to the top management of many companies and is currently Chairman of Dujardin Foods, a family business in frozen foods, and Capricorn Venture Partners. He is also a non-executive partner in Procuritas, a Scandinavian buy-out firm, a Board member of Governance for Owners, an active ownership fund of Vandemoortele, a large private food firm, and an investment committee member of NPM Capital.

Walter Van Pottelberge - Independent Director

Walter Van Pottelbeerge has been Managing Director of Ter Lande Invest S.A. since January 1, 2005. Walter served as the Chief Executive Officer of ING Insurance Belgium-Luxembourg until 2001. He serves as a Director of Argenta Spaarbank NV. He has been a Non-executive Director of Cryo-Save Group N.V since October 1, 2007. Walter serves on an Advisory capacity on various other company boards and organisations including UBCA N.V., DELA Investment Belgium, VOKA, Argenta, the University of Antwerp and Vlerik Leuven Management School. Walter served as Non-Executive Director of Recticel SA until December 2005. He has served on the advisory board of Goffin Bank since 2005. He served as President of the executive committee of Mercator Bank NV from 2003 to 2005. Walter holds a University degree in Physics and Actuarial science from Leuven University.

Liesbet Peeters - Independent Director

Liesbet Peeters is managing partner at D. Capital Partners, the investment advisory arm of Dalberg, facilitating impact investments into emerging markets. Prior to this she founded Lapiluz Advisory Services and worked for Capricorn Venture Partners, International Finance Corporation and Greenpark Capital. Liesbet is also a board member at Quest for Growth.

Baron Bernard de Gerlache de Gomery - Independent Director 

Baron Bernard de Gerlache de Gomery graduated as a doctor of laws from the University of Louvain-la-Neuve (UCL) and holds a master's in business administration from Boston University. After working for the Bank van Brussel and the Benelux Bank, he was managing partner of the Discount Bureau of Belgium (1985-1990) and managing director of Sipef NV (1990-1997). He is a managing director of Belficor NV, a financial firm specialising in mergers and takeovers, investments and business advisory. He is a director of listed companies (including Texaf and Floridienne), where he also sits on their audit and/or remuneration committees. He also has directorships with Belgian companies such as SIAT and ITB-TRADETECH and is the chairman of Editions Dupuis SA. As captain of a frigate in the Naval Reserve, he has commanded a number of fleets and was chairman of the Royal Association of Reserve Officers of the Navy. He is former chairman of the Belgo-African Chamber of Commerce, and is still active there as a director, and for a number of charity organisations. 

Dr Jos B. Peeters - Chairman Executive Committee

Yves Vaneerdewegh - Member Executive Committee, CIO Quoted Equity

Sabine Vermassen - Member Executive Committee, Compliance, Legal & Risk